top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Soul ★★★★★

December 27th, 2020

Common Sense Media Age: 8+ Violence 2/5 Language 2/5

My Age Recommendation: 8+ (Due to serious themes)


I heard of this movie on Rotten Tomatoes since they were thinking of nominating this movie as one of the best movies of this year. I was intrigued by the plot and by others who had seen the movie so I decided to give it a shot, and I am so glad I did! Soul tells the story of Joe Gardener, a middle school band teacher who loves jazz music. When he falls into a sewer hole, he gets transported into the Great Beyond where souls are going to die forever after they died on Earth. Joe knows he does not want to die, and by accidentally tripping and falling, he landed in the Great Beginning, where souls are given personalities and a spark before they are sent to Earth. On Joe's quest to leave this cosmic land and go back to his body on Earth he meets a rebellious soul named 22, who was supposed to get her spark so she can go to Earth, but she always refused to. As Joe and 22 start to bond and help each other get to where they want to be, they soon get what they want, but this makes Joe learn his true passion may not be what he always thought it was. Will Joe make it back to Earth? Let me just say, this was a heartwarming and inspiring movie. The plot, execution, animation, voice actors, and the themes in this movie were amazing! The themes of following your dreams and making the most out of life really was inspiring to me, and I truly recommend this movie to anyone.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page