top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

A Quiet Place: Day One ★★★☆☆

After seeing the Quiet Place movies, I really expected this one to be as intense as the first and second one, along with the new location of New York being used to its full potential in this prequel. While it was a decent entry in the franchise, it definitely was not as intense! The story follows the day the monsters landed on Earth as everyone is now forced to be quiet to not alert these deadly monsters. The main character Sam has been a hospice patient for a while, and teams up with a stranger named Eric in order to survive the initial wave of these monsters and hopefully escape New York. I will say, I liked a lot about this movie, but I just hoped for more. The main thing I wish there was more of would be the intense scenes. While most of the tense and quiet scenes were shot beautifully and used the setting of New York to its advantage, it wasn't as intense as the first two films at all. While I know the film is technically a horror/sci-fi film, it felt more sci-fi than horror, which worked fine for the sake of the plot and characters but it was a bit misleading. I did like the cinematography during certain scenes where sometimes the camera tracked the characters in between debris and rubble to really show all of New York as it fell silent, and this helped progress the story sometimes as the characters learned of new ways to avoid the monsters through sound. Speaking of, the use of sound and silence in this movie was great, but not as good as the first two films. I feel like the sound could have been utilized more when it was present in order to create more tension instead of the jump scares they put. I will say, I was a fan of the few jump scares that they put, as it was definitely on brand with the franchise and created the semi-tense moments. The use of New York was something I was banking on a lot, and the subway scene and a lot of the 'walking in the street' scenes used the setting to its advantage, especially since I think we see more of the monsters up close in this film than ever before in the previous ones! Overall, the entertainment factor of this film along with the cinematography definitely made up for some of the weaker points, however it is still worth watching especially for Quiet Place fans!


1 view0 comments

Σχόλια


bottom of page