top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Alien: Romulus ★★★★☆


I am a huge Alien fan, and seeing this trailer for the first time in IMAX had me extremely excited. The last Alien movie I saw was Prometheus, and while I thought it was decent it left me wanting more and this movie definitely delivered! The story is set in between the first and the second film as a group of miners decide to flee their planet in searches of a cryochamber to reach a more habitable planet. Along the way at an abandoned space station they come in contact with the xenomorphs and their multiple forms! I will say this movie was suprisingly good. The story was well written with a heavy emphasis on character development in the beginning and a crazy second and third act, and I really do appreciate a modern horror film taking time to develop characters instead of killing them off so quickly. Speaking of horror, the franchise finally is going back to the horror/sci-fi content focused on scares a bit more than sci-fi (which is a good thing) because the terror of the xenomorphs and the face huggers have a better effect due to the setting and the horror-leading themes. Probably the biggest plus about this movie are the insane visuals and you definitely see this more in the second half of the film. Any of the scenes showing space were beautiful, and even closed off shots inside the space station had great lighting effects and just a really good atmosphere that looked classic. Speaking of, I am glad they did not try to add too many new concepts in this film and they stuck with what does well in the franchise, which is great visuals and amazing practical effects. The effects were great as always for an Alien movie and any scene with the face huggers (since all those scenes were done practically without CGI) looked incredible and it added to some of the scare factor itself. The last twenty minutes or so of this film did have me stressing and I would say it was one of the best final acts of a movie I've seen in a while! I did see this movie in a PLF which was Dolby Cinema, and I do think this movie has to be seen in either Dolby or IMAX. The visuals alone deserve the best screen quality (hence why I went with dolby) since most of the movie is dark anyways and Dolby has the best black color. The sound design was also Dolby optimized and it was used well for deep bass during some of the stressful moments, and those things will not be translated in a standard showing. I would try IMAX over Dolby since I think the sound is comparable and the entire movie was filmed in a 1.90 aspect ratio (IMAX only), so I do recommend an IMAX viewing for this movie. Overall, I recommend all fans of Alien should see this movie as it won't disappoint unlike some of the other recent Alien movies.



2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page