top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Dark Phoenix ★☆☆☆☆

June 5th, 2019

Common Sense Media age: 13+ Violence 4/5 Language 3/5

Sex 2/5

My age recommendation: 11+ (Due to strong violence, language, and suggestive themes).


As of the date you see above, I am in India. I leave next Monday on the 10th. In the U.S., this movie comes out on June 7th. Here in India, this movie came out today in 3D, so I watched it. Now, I will say this, I haven't seen any of the previous X-Men movies, but I will say they are probably better than this one. The story of this movie starts when the X-Men have a space mission, and while Jean Grey was trying to hold a ship together, cosmic energy got sucked into her, giving her powers that can either start life and create planets, or destroy planets and eradicate life. Her powers are controlled by her emotions, if she gets angry, her powers will be used, and this can be fatal as shown in this movie. Will the X-Men be able to control her power so that she doesn't hurt anyone, or will she let her emotions get the best of her? Was this a good movie, or is Marvel struggling to make another good movie? I say it's a bit of both. This movie had a few flaws, and the biggest one is that the actor of Jean Grey wasn't good. I mean, if this is a movie about her, and the actor isn't good, then that makes this movie not as good as it could've been. This actress looked like Jean Grey, but it's the way this actress acted that didn't make her the best. She didn't act in a way that made us believe what she was saying, thinking, and doing. Jean Grey's character is known to cry a lot, and have a lot of emotions, and this actress didn't show these emotions that well. There were a lot of crying scenes, and none of them were portrayed that well. Another problem with this movie is how short it was. I'm fine with short movies as long as they show everything the story-line has. Unfortunately, this movie wasn't one of them. It was 1 hour and 54 minutes (most Marvel movies are between 2 to 3 hrs), and I think they rushed the plot. I feel like everything happened too fast. Overall, this is a movie with huge flaws and big potential.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page