top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Don't Breathe ★★★★☆

TW: THE FILM CONTAINS IMPLICATIONS OF RAPE. VIEWERS DISCRETION ADVISED


After the new Quiet Place movie that I watched, I still wanted films similar to it to see how other people took this concept. I was surprised when this well-rated horror film showed up, and it seemed promising and unique. The story is pretty simple as it follows a group of house robbers who want to steal a large sum of money from an old war veteran. After learning the man is blind, they plan to sneak in and leave with the money easily. However after a couple mistakes, the blind veteran turns out to be a psychopath, and anyone who touches his money is met with consequences. I was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed this film. Despite the film being mainly inside the veteran's house, I liked the varied camera shots and cinematography displayed throughout. My favorite example of this was the basement sequences, as they were done well enough to show jump scares even as characters were just running straight! The story itself was pretty well done, and the plot moved quickly but didn't add anything extra, which helped create the intense 'one-day' atmosphere. The use of sound and camera shots in this film whenever the blind man would walk around reminded me of a video game almost since the house was shown in great detail in the beginning including some weapons and sound-alerting devices, and it was extremely creative. I also think that the character's motives were done well, and it really helps during some of the stressful moments where (SPOILER ALERT) some characters do not make it. The hysterical and emotional scenes as the characters are seemingly trapped in the house are done in a claustrophobic way that really adds to the stress in the film, and this is conveyed perfectly! Overall, I recommend this film for horror fans as the scares and story are enough for good scares.


1 view0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page