top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Encanto ★★★☆☆

December 18th, 2021

Common Sense Media Age: 6+ Violence/Scariness 3/5

My Age Recommendation: 5+ (Due to some scary scenes)


I heard of this movie in an ad on YouTube. At first I was a little surprised because usually I get ad's for action movies and horror movies based on my history, but then I see that Lin Manuel Miranda wrote the songs for this movie, and I knew that had to mean something. Later that day, my friend wanted to see that movie for her birthday, so I went looking forward to the songs. Encanto is about the Madrigal family. They live on an island blessed to them by the Encanto, which is a candle that has never gone out since the day it was lit almost a century ago. The Encanto blesses each child with a special power which they can use to help the people out on the island. All of the Madrigals have powers, except for Mirabel. Mirabel was never given a power by the Encanto. During an Encanto ceremony where someone was being given a power, Mirabel saw something and presumes the Encanto is in danger. When no one believes her, she sets out on her own to figure out what is happening and how to stop it. Can she save the Encanto and her family? Let me say, this was a good movie, well most of it. The characters were developed perfectly as all disney movies do. The representation and role models are really good, and the story was compelling and interesting. My only issue was with the ending. The ending felt incredibly rushed, and it was very confusing since some of the events contradict previous events. It left me and my friends happy for about 2 minutes before we analyzed the ending and realized all the flaws. Overall, this was a great movie with a major flaw at the end.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page