top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Freddy Vs. Jason ★☆☆☆☆

TW: THE FOLLOWING MOVIE CONTAINS HEAVY IMPLICATIONS OF CHILD ABUSE AND CHILD MOLESTATION. VIEWERS DISCRETION ADVISED


Common Sense Media Age: 18+ Violence 5/5 Language 5/5 Sex 5/5 Drinking/Drugs 3/5

My Age Recommendation: 17+ (Due to strong bloody slasher violence with gore throughout, pervasive strong language, frequent graphic nudity and multiple sexual situations, drinking, drug usage, and implied child rape).


I only watched this movie for fun on Friday the 13th considering I have already watched Friday the 13th, and I fully expected it to be this bad of a movie. I really only wanted to see the clash between Freddy and Jason (very little screen time of this for some reason despite it's title) and unfortunately that disappointed me. The story (which barely exists) is that Jason is risen again (for the 4th time in the series) and is recruited by Freddy Krueger to get people scared again. Freddy has a problem in which he cannot kill people in their dreams if they aren't scared of him, so Jason agrees for a little bit. Jason gets too slasher-happy and ends up killing most of Freddy's victims before Freddy gets in their heads at night, so Freddy and Jason battle it out to declare who the best killer and who gets to kill the remaining victims. Will Freddy or Jason win? Let me say, this was worse than I already thought it was going to be. I knew this was probably a 2 star movie when I heard of it, however I did not think the main part of the movie of two horror icons fighting each other would be so short. I think in combined the two only fought for less than 15 minutes of the 90 minute run time, leaving too much time in between fights for the lack of character development and story to form. The characters, of course, had zero characterization and it seemed like they were just average people who got chopped to pieces throughout (which is what I expected). When the two were fighting however, some of the scenes were fun and great to watch and the others felt drawn-out and cartoony. There is a scene where Freddy plays 'pinball' with Jason by tossing him around and the sound effect of a pinball machine plays, and I found this to take away from the entire dark plot of the movie. Speaking of plot, it seemed to revolve more around Freddy, with many shots of him cornering children in his lair with sexual dialogue (implied rape). There is also dialogue that is meant to be comedic about Freddy when he sticks a finger up a teenager's underwear while she is immobilized, and that was pretty disgusting. Overall, this is a terrible movie with barely any fighting screen time, definitely not worth it!




3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page