top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

It (2017) ★★★★★

December 22nd, 2020

Common Sense Media Age: 15+ Violence 4/5 Language 4/5 Sex 2/5

My Age Recommendation: 15+ (Due to strong bloody violence, intense scary/frightening images, strong language, and brief sexual assault.)


Sorry for being late on reviewing this movie, but this was definitely a good movie. After watching the original It (1990) movie, I was very unsatisfied. I felt like Pennywise could have done so much more than what the 90s movie showed. Then I remembered they made a scary remake, and I was scared at first to even watch it. I remember being told by classmates a long time ago who did watch this movie that it was actually scary, so I put it off for some time. One day, I decided to go for it, and I'm glad I did! It tells the story of seven outcasts in the town of Derry who have to face off against a terrifying clown named Pennywise who comes out to kill children every 27 years. The kids band together to find this clown and kill it, but when Bill sees that Pennywise has killed his brother Georgie, Bill goes rogue to fight the monster. Bill decides against this when the rest of the outcasts tag along. Together, they face off against Pennywise in an epic showdown! Let me say, this was WAY better than the original. Pennywise is described as a bloodthirsty beast, and the clown looks exactly like that (unlike in the original). The clown is scary, not going to lie, and I love the creative jump scares that are strategically placed throughout the movie, and it adds to the supernatural feeling of Pennywise. I usually hate CGI blood usage, but I liked it in this film. The iconic bathroom scene where Beverly is pulled into the sink and blood fills the room was very creepy too me, and the blood was amazing and animated very well. I also loved the plot and execution, since none of it was rushed. The characters are developed throughout the movie, which I like since you feel emotions towards the characters because of this. I will say this is the first movie I was creeped out by, but it is still a movie for all horror movie fans. Overall, this is an amazingly scary movie for all fans of the dancing clown!

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page