top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Knives Out ★★★★☆

December 27th, 2019

Common Sense Media age: 13+ Violence 3/5 Language 3/5

Sex 2/5

My Age Recommendation: 14+ (due to violence, strong language, mature themes, and sex related dialogue).


When I first saw the poster for this movie, I was confused. I knew it was a murder mystery type movie, but I see a whole family in weird colors and they all have a face that's different from each other. But when I went to see it, everything was made clear. This clever murder mystery is about the Thrombey's, a weird family whose father (Harlem Thrombey) died on the night of his 85th birthday. As detective Blanc takes on this case, even though the family is convinced of this to be a suicide, he learns many secrets of the family, and he learns that some people will do just about anything to keep these secrets kept hidden well. Is this case just a suicide, or is this case way more than anyone could've imagined? Let me say, this movie was way better than I expected. This movie has great choreography, an amazing plot, and amazing characters. The plot was not rushed, and this is usually the case for most detective movies, so I applaud this one, and the characters were well developed throughout. My only problem is with Detective Blanc and his weird Kentucky accent. The accent did not sit right with me, and many people agree that it felt unnatural to hear him speak this way, but it was not a total deal breaker for me. Overall, this is a great murder mystery with a satisfying plot and a better ending!




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page