top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Longlegs ★★★☆☆

I remember seeing reviews for this film at the end of a trailer with people claiming its the 'scariest film since hereditary' and that instantly piqued my interest. I unfortunately was hyped up a great deal by a couple reviews but mostly friends saying that this film was extremely disturbing and was uncomfortable to sit through, and watching it left me disturbed for sure but still confused. The story follows an FBI agent who has a special power in which sometimes she can correctly guess case information. When she learns that a killer that goes by Longlegs has killed many people in her area, she is assigned to the case due to her power as she uncovers dark truths about the killer and her connection to him. I hate to say it, but this movie was just okay. The story had incredible potential and the real ruiner of it all was the dissapointing ending. The pacing was okay but did a great job creating suspense and extremely stressful situations that had me squirming as I watched it. The scenes of the agent in her own home with faint appearences of Longlegs showing up in shadows was not only impressive but also disturbing and uncomfortable to sit through. With all of this in mind, it led me to think that the movie was going to finish strong and leave me with something to think about, and it did not do any of this. The ending was open-ended in order to force a thought once the credits rolled, but all it did was make me and my friend who was watching it mad. I do like endings similar to this, but it did not fit this movie at all and I think the scares of the entire movie meant nothing due to the ending. For things I did like besides the suspense in the first half, I did love the cinematography and the use of the different aspect ratios to either show more or less in the shots, which did contribute to creative scares and a lot of suspenseful moments. Something I wasn't expecting was Nicholas Cage to be extremely good at his role of Longlegs, and his performance was chilling enough to where I was kind of scared when he showed up on screen. Overall, this movie was definitely stressful at times and disturbing, but the third act will leave you a bit disappointed.



2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page