top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDeven Shah

M3GAN ★★★☆☆

January 7th, 2023

Common Sense Media Age: 14+ Violence 4/5 Language 3/5

My Age Recommendation: 14+ (Due to some strong violence, brief disturbing imagery, and strong language throughout).


When I first saw this trailer, I was mad. This seemed like a blatant Chucky knock-off and I wasn't even sure why someone would do this! With more and more trailers being released, I realized how different this is going to be compared to the Chucky movies. When it came out, the positive reviews skyrocketed for this movie and it is currently a certified fresh film, so I knew I had to see for myself. The story follows Cady, a nine year old girl who just had her parents killed in a car accident with her being the only surviver. She is sent to live with her Aunt Gemma, who works for a toy company and makes elaborate robotic toys. Her guardianship of Cady starts off rough, seeing as there is nothing to do in Gemma's house, so Gemma finishes her prototype of a revolutionary doll known as M3GAN. Cady loves M3GAN and wants to spend all day with her, but M3GAN starts to develop some violent tendencies and even gets blamed for a murder! Can Gemma figure out what's wrong with her creation before it destroys them all? Let me say, this was so much better than I thought it would be. Character development was great, the story was great, and most parts of the plot were great. The plot execution was rough in the beginning, with it being focused more on comedy than horror, and then the immediate switch halfway through the movie marking the second act being a little sudden. The switch was great for dramatic effect, but it was a little rough for me. I was not surprised about this at all however seeing as this is a Blumhouse film and they are infamously known for their slow beginnings. But, this movie made me laugh a lot more than I thought I would, and it provided great relief during incredibly tense moments (and surprisingly there were a few of those too)! Overall, this is a great horror movie with hilarious moments and disturbing ones that will make you laugh and jump in your seat.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page