top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Midsommar ★★★★★

January 21st, 2023

​Common Sense Media Age: 17+ Violence 5/5 Language 4/5

Sex 5/5 Drinking/Drugs 3/5

My Age Recommendation: 17+ (Due to strong disturbing ritualistic violence throughout, prolonged disturbing imagery, strong language, graphic nudity, sexual scenes, and drug usage).


I recently went down a rabbit hole of A24 produced movies after reflecting on how much I enjoyed Everything Everywhere All At Once. When I learned that this horror masterpiece was produced by them, I knew I had to watch it and see for myself. The story follows Dani as she just lost her sister and parents in a tragic accident. Her boyfriend, Christian, has wanted to break up with her for a while now, but after the recent events he decided to let her come on a trip to Sweden he and his friends have been planning. This trip takes place on a commune in which one of their friends, Pelle, grew up. As the festivities on the commune occur, more and more disturbing events follow. As the final days approach, people are missing, many are dead, and so many questions are left unanswered! Let me say, this was an amazing movie. The story was so nerve wrecking and disturbing, and it left me questioning a lot of things that happened in the film. This is one of the only movies that disturbed me the way the trailers and promotions implied it would, and the characters were the main reason. The character development was amazing, and the cast had great chemistry with each other, causing the dark and horrific scenes to be all the more disturbing to the audience. The dialogue towards the second part of the movie really advanced the sinister and uneasy feeling I had watching this, and this kept me on edge with no breaks! Overall, this is an amazing movie for all horror fans, but this is definitely not for the faint of heart!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page