top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Monkey Man ★★★★☆

CONTENT WARNING: THE FOLLOWING FILM CONTAINS A SEQUENCE OF RAPE AND ASSAULT ALONG WITH GRAPHIC VIOLENCE. VIEWERS DISCRETION ADVISED.


I saw the trailer for this during my showing of Argyle, and I was blown away. The editing alone on the trailer was amazing, but I didn't know Dev Patel was going to start his directing career! Regardless, I was extremely excited to see this film and it did not disappoint. The story follows a fighter who loses battles for money. After figuring out how to work his way into the city's top elite society, he realizes that these people were responsible for childhood trauma, and the story of revenge begins. I will say, this movie was incredible. I was not expecting such a deep and sometimes emotional plot, and the characters were great and fully developed. There was brief comedic relief throughout to balance the heavier violent scenes, and the sound design was pretty good too. Of course, the action scenes were done very well in terms of choreography and the use of practical effects when possible made this film visually stunning. Also, the frequent themes of class struggles, power, greed, trans-rights, and corruption were great and balanced well with the plot. Overall, I think everyone should go watch this film and I think you'll enjoy the cinematography as much as the plot!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2022 by Deven's Movie Reviews. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page