top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Mortal Kombat (2021) ★★★★☆

April 23rd, 2021

Common Sense Media Age: 16+ Violence 5/5 Language 4/5

My Age Recommendation: 15+ (Due to strong bloody violence including gore and body parts, strong language, and brief crude humor).


I remember watching the original 1995 Mortal Kombat film when I was 9. I was amazed on the action sequences and the story of the fight tournament, and while I wasn't allowed to play the games at that age, I really enjoyed the original film. So two months ago when I got a YouTube ad for a reboot of that movie, my whole family was so excited to see it! This movie tells the story of Cole Young who is an MMA fighter. He gets a message from Jax that he has been chosen for Mortal Kombat in which he and others need to defend Earth Realm by winning the tournament. Cole, Jax, Sonya, and Kano travel to Lord Raiden's sanctuary where they train with Lui Kang and Kung Lao to unlock their arcana to win the tournament. But it won't be easy, Outerworld is determined to win, and they are attempting to kill Earthrealm's fighters before the tournament even begins! Will the fighters survive and save Earthrealm from being taken over? Let me just say, this was a surprisingly great movie. The characters were developed perfectly, the effects were great, and there were frequent references to the games which is something I loved. I also liked how the plot wasn't fabricated and it didn't have holes in it. Since this movie was like the video game story lines, the plot wasn't rushed, underdeveloped, or flawed. My only issue is that so many more characters from the Mortal Kombat universe weren't included in this movie such as Johnny Cage and Barraka, but the post credit scene hinted to there being a sequel with Johnny Cage in it! Overall, this is an amazing movie for Mortal Kombat fans.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page