top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDeven Shah

My Spy ★★★★☆

July 1st, 2020

Common Sense Media Age: 10+ Violence 3/5 Language 3/5 Sex 2/5

My Age Recommendation: 12+ (Due to some violence and strong language throughout).


I have been waiting for this movie to come out for a long time now. When I first saw the trailer, I instantly knew this was going to be a funny movie that I had to see. When I logged onto Amazon Prime Video and saw that this movie was free for Prime Members, I was surprised and excited! The story is about JJ, a hardened CIA agent who was tasked with doing a surveillance operation on a family. When his cover is blown by the families only child, a nine year old named Sophie. In exchange for JJ's cover to not be exposed to the public, Sophie requested to learn how be a spy. But the real fun begins when Sophie effortlessly completes all of JJ's tasks. This turns out to make a battle between the two as Sophie proves you don't have to have much training to outsmart a soldier! Let me just say, this is an underrated film! Most critics gave it a 50/100 or less. I say this is a 4 star movie. The story was good, the execution was ok, but the use of action and comedy went together perfectly. There was not too much action or comedy, and the plot execution went well with this. My only issue was the character development of JJ's backstory wasn't that good. They didn't explain his past that well, they only said he was ex-military. This made the skills he has learned in his military years that are present in the movie seem random. They seem like he acquired the skills out of nowhere, even though they have said once or twice he is ex-military. Overall, this is a good movie for action and comedy fans.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page