top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

No Hard Feelings ★★☆☆☆

August 13th, 2023

Common Sense Media Age: 16+ Language 5/5 Sex 3/5

Drinking/Smoking/Drugs 3/5

My Age Recommendation: 16+ (Due to pervasive strong language throughout, nonsexual nudity, strong sexual dialogue throughout, underage drinking, and some drug usage).


When I saw an ad for this back in the beginning of summer, I was laughing and could not wait to go see this. Fast forward to now, and I think the only funny bits of this movie were all shown in the trailer. The story follows Maddie, a 32-year-old woman who has been on a losing streak lately. She lost her car due to not paying her car payments, and since she is a part-time uber driver, this isn't good. Consequently, she cannot afford to pay for her house left by her mom, and she finds an ad online for a family willing to give her a car in return for bringing a 19-year-old boy out of his shell and 'date him hard' before he goes to college. Maddie accepts, but quickly learns how hard dating a 19-year-old from a whole different generation from her can be, and time is running out for her to keep her mom's house! Let me say, this movie was not that funny at all. I went into this movie not expecting a plot and to watch for the comedy instead, and sadly I was disappointed. Every joke did not hit with me, either because of timing or because of the bad writing on most of the jokes. The story itself was fine and was developed in a way that it was more somber and sadder rather than a comedy, which I also found a bit misleading but that's not too important. The characterization of the two main characters were decent, but I feel like could have been better on Maddie's part especially because of the importance her mom's house had on the entire story and how that was barely touched upon. I did not like the ending either and how there wasn't a 'once last funny moment' or anything like that, but that's a personal thing so I didn't count it against the rating. But overall, this wasn't a good movie, and I don't recommend for anyone wanting to watch a comedy movie because of how unfunny the majority of the jokes are.




12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page