top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Speak No Evil ★★★★☆

After seeing a trailer for this, I saw James MacAvoy and knew I was going to watch it. Anything he is in (as of writing this) is great and the similar villain role he plays in each movie never fails to make me feel uncomfortable, and this was no different. The story follows a family who meets Paddy and Dalton, another family on their trip to Italy. After spending some time with them, the family decides to take a trip to Paddy's remote house for a weekend. Things are strange between Paddy's family as he acts weird and abberant towards his kids and the guests, but once the family realizes this it might be too late! I was extremely entertained and on edge throughout this entire movie. The movie itself it a remake of the original Danish film in 2022, and while it's supposedly a little lighter in content, it is still extremely hard to watch during certain moments. James MacAvoy, as predicted, delivers an unsettling performance that the entire audience can feel throughout and it really helps that the child actor for the kid missing the tongue was also a great actor in this. The wife was also unsettling, but I'll admit a little less strong than the other two in the family. The story was great and fast paced, which is good because I was worried about a 'slow-burn' type of film since this is a blumhouse movie. The cinematography was also something that surprised me, since there were a lot of crazy drone shots and really stunning shots during the scenes in Italy or even some of the walking scenes at Paddy's home. Towards the end, while it was definitely intense, I wish there were more cinematic shots to make the end a bit more impactful since it felt kind redundant, but the ending itself wasn't bad so I didn't take points off for it. Overall, the movie was great to watch and I recommend for anyone who loves James MacAvoy and his work!



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page