top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Split ★★★★☆

January 15th, 2022

*TRIGGER WARNING* (The following movie contains heavy implication and imagery depicting child rape, child abuse, and self harm including teen suicide and suicidal thoughts.)

Common Sense Media Age: 14+ Violence 4/5 Sex 2/5 Language 3/5

My Age Recommendation: 15+ (Due to heavy implications of child rape, child abuse, and self harm. Also includes some gory violence and language.)


I got an ad on YouTube the other day saying that I coulde buy the Unbreakable film series with all three movies (Unbreakable, Split, and Glass). That reminded me that I had only seen Unbreakable, not the other two. So I decided to start the second movie, and I will say I was not expecting some of the themes that were present in the movie, so a trigger warning has been placed for sensitive viewers. The story follows Kevin who has a personality disorder that causes him to have 23 different personalities. Each personality in extremely different from each other, and two of the personalities (Dennis and Patricia) have been banned in Kevin's mind. One day, Dennis and Patricia take over Kevin's mind and kidnap 3 teenage girls. The girls soon learn that they will be offered as food to the 24th personality, and they must escape and outsmart the other personalities if they want to leave alive. Will they make it out, or will Kevin's personalities succeed? Let me say, this movie was amazing. It kept me on edge and it had my heart racing. The plot was well developed and there was never a dull moment, which is rare especially in these psychological movies. The characters, including the personalities, were well developed and it helped the viewers sympathize with the teenagers kidnapped in the film. I will say the ending was a little weak, and I feel like more could have been added to really sell the plot twist, but other than that this is an amazing movie that will mess with your mind. Overall, this is an amazing movie, but not for the faint of heart or anyone who gets attached to characters easily.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page