top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

The Banshees of Inisherin ★★★★★

January 29th, 2023

Common Sense Media Age: 15+ Violence 4/5 Language 4/5

Sex 3/5 Drinking 4/5

My Age Recommendation: 15+ (Due to some disturbing imagery including self mutilation, pervasive strong language throughout, some disturbing themes, and brief nudity).


After hearing about how many Oscar nominations this movie has received, I decided to look into it more. Upon reading the description, I realized this isn't usually the type of movies I enjoy watching. I got too many requests to watch this, so I decided to watch it anyway, and I'm glad I did! The story follows Padraic who goes down to the local pub only to find his friend Colm drinking with someone else instead of him. They have been drinking together everyday for years now, and the only explanation Colm gives is that he no longer wants to be friends. Despite being told not to, Padraic continues to push for an exact answer as to why he doesn't want to be friends anymore, but this only pushes Colm to a point no one thought he would reach! Let me say, this movie was funny, sad, disturbing, and beautiful all at once. The comedic moments had me laughing out loud, the disturbing moments shocked me completely, and the cinematography was amazing throughout the entire movie. The character development, needless to say, was amazing with truly enjoyable characters to watch. This added to the disturbing scenes and the sad scenes as well. The use of comedy during the dark and depressing scenes really helped this movie become lighter in those moments, and that made it truly enjoyable to watch. Even though I normally do not like these sorts of movies, I could say I enjoyed this one and would be open to others like it! Overall, this was an amazing movie that hopefully wins the Oscars it deserves!

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page