top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDeven Shah

The Black Phone ★★★☆☆

October 6th, 2022

Common Sense Media Age: 16+ Violence 5/5 Language 4/5

Drugs 3/5

My Age Recommendation: 15+ (Due to strong bloody and gory violence, disturbing images, a prolonged sequence of abuse, strong language throughout, and drug usage).


I know it has been months since I have watched and reviewed a movie, but with school and everything it has been hard to find the time to do so. Now that I am finally on my fall break, expect a lot of horror movies, starting with this one! The story is set in the 70's where Finny and his sister live. Life is not great for Finny due to his abusive father and the constant bullying at school. Within the past few years, a masked killer called The Grabber has been kidnapping kids and they are never to be seen again. The only thing we know is that The Grabber leaves black balloons at the scene where he kidnaps the kids. One day after school, Finny gets kidnapped by The Grabber and wakes up in his basement. A disconnected black phone is with him with the voices of the dead children, all trying to help him escape. Can he escape The Grabber in time? Let me say, this was not a bad movie. I liked the story and the premise of it, and some of the scenes were terrifying. The character development for Finny, The Grabber, and Finny were great which made the ending worth it as well. The only reason this is not a 4 or even a 5 star movie is the extremely slow beginning. When I say slow, I mean it took almost 45 minutes for Finny to be kidnapped and for the plot to start moving. Don't get me wrong, I love exposition before the climax, but the exposition shouldn't be half of the movie's runtime! Overall, this is a decent movie with an extremely slow beginning but a terrifying ending!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page