top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

The Exorcist: Believer ★★☆☆☆

Common Sense Media Age: 16+ Violence 5/5 Language 4/5 Sex 2/5

My Age Recommendation: 15+ (Due to some brief violent and bloody content, strong language, and brief sexual content).


I am a huge fan of the original Exorcist movie, and when I heard there was a new trilogy coming out, I knew I had to watch this movie. I was a little skeptical when I saw that the director was David Gordon Green, the same person that made the terrible questionable Halloween trilogy (Halloween, Halloween Kills, Halloween Ends), but I had faith that the movie would pull through, and unfortunately I was disappointed. The story follows two pre-teens named Angela and Katherine who are best friends, and one day Angela wants to talk to her dead mother spiritually with her friend. Angela lies to her dad by saying she is going to study with Katherine, and the two friends go after school to the woods to complete this ritual. However, they go missing for three days, and when they come back, they seem to be different and soon they start showing signs of possession. With help from others with experience, the parents of the two possessed children decide to perform an exorcism to hopefully save both of their children. Can they save Angela and Katherine? Let me say, this was a major let down, but it still had some positives. It was definitely entertaining, a few of the jump scares got me really good, and the ending exorcist scene was decent. However, the positives stop there. The story was pretty bad, with bad writing and bad dialogue throughout. The pacing was also really uneven, with a slow but scary start in the beginning and then a very rushed ending with little to no scares. The main point of the movie is that the two girls are friends, but this is not explored enough at all, which caused me to not really care or feel for them once they went missing or during the exorcism scenes. To not give away any spoilers for this next part, the guest appearance in the movie was great while it lasted, but they scrapped that person so quickly that any last defense for the movie to be saved a little bit (with fan points of course) was gone, which also bothered me a lot considering with a little more screen time of this person and the movie could have been developed much better. Overall, this is a terrible horror movie that only die hard fans of the original should consider watching!



5 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page