top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDeven Shah

The Grand Budapest Hotel ★★★★★

I began to go down my list of great movies I somehow haven't seen yet, and I was in the mood for something that I would definitely like! I haven't seen many Wes Anderson films, however I know he is known for insane visuals and usually great story telling, so I picked this movie and I am extremely glad I did. The story follows a man named Gustave who owns The Grand Budapest Hotel as he takes on a new lobby man named Zero. After one of Gustave's elderly lovers die, the will states Gustave will inhert all of her riches instead of the family. Now on the run from the angry family members of the deceased, they embark on an adventure that will bring them closer together full of wacky scenarios and crazy characters. I will say I was extremely impressed when watching this movie, and the visuals alone deserve praise. Within the first few minutes, the outside shots of the hotel were really beautiful and looked like a painting almost. Of course the entire movie was filmed in the same way with a lot of far away shots to really capture the entire scenary, and I was amazed from start to finish with this. The story itself was strange but fun, and it wasn't hard to follow which was my concern before going into this. The characters who arguably make this movie what it is, next to the visuals of course, are well developed and written really well. The sense of humor used throughout helps with the tone of the movie, and I'm glad the jokes aided in the story in showing how strange the entire situation of Mr. Gustave and his hotel really is. The use of multiple aspect ratios in order to tell the difference between time periods was also creative, and I liked how the 1.37 scenes showcased the most beautiful shots ever and the 2.36 shots were not shown for the majority of the movie (which makes sense once you watch it). I heard a lot of people call Wes Anderson overrated due to some of his more recent work, but if a lot of his other films are similar to this one then I will definitely be checking them out. Overall, this was a masterpiece of a film and I recommend everyone should see it at some point for the visuals alone!




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page