top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

The Marvels ★★★☆☆

November 21st, 2023

Common Sense Media Age: 11+ Violence 3/5 Language 3/5

My Age Recommendation: 10+ (Due to sci-fi violence throughout and some mild language)


After the last MCU movie being Ant-Man Quantumania (one of the worst Marvel movies ever), I was hesitant to even watch this movie and was wondering if I should just wait until this could be streaming. One discount Tuesday over Thanksgiving break I decided to watch this movie in 3D, and I had more fun that I thought. The story takes place after the events of the Ms. Marvel TV show from Disney+ in which Carol Danvers is continuing her space journey after defeating the Kree rulers. When she is instructed to investigate a wormhole, her powers become entangled with Monica Rambeau and Ms. Marvel to form a group known as The Marvels. This movie was not as bad as I thought it was going to be, and it was a lot of fun to watch. The story itself, while very cliche, had good pacing and a decent villain which was a major improvement from the last Marvel film. The characters, while mainly developed in their respective TV shows, still had characterization throughout the film and the dialogue between the three helped with this. More on the dialogue, it was also riddled with super hero cliches, but the acting and the decent story helped make this movie fun to watch and easier to ignore these cliches. The chemistry between the three 'Marvels' were great and did a good job to set up the rest of Marvel's Phase 5. A new thing I will do due to requests is to rate the special format (if any) I watched a certain film in, and I did see this movie in 3D and enjoyed it a lot! The 3D effect, while can be confused for cheesy 'pop-out' effects, mainly added depth to the film and made a distinguish between the 'front' and the 'back' of the screen during action sequences and any scene with many characters at once. I loved the 3D effect as it made the action sequences much more immersive, and it made even the duller talking scenes (not many of these) have depth and more to look at, making it fun to watch. I do recommend watching this movie in IMAX or even IMAX 3D instead of just normal 3D since a good bit of the movie was filmed in the IMAX aspect ratio, but the normal 3D film was still a lot of fun and I do recommend if IMAX is not an option. Overall, this was a decent entry in Marvel's Phase 5 and I can't wait for the rest of the phase!



4 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page