top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDeven Shah

The Menu ★★★★☆

January 4th, 2023

Common Sense Media Age: 15+ Violence 4/5 Language 4/5

Sex 2/5

My Age Recommendation: 15+ (Due to some violent and disturbing imagery involving gore and suicide, strong language throughout, and brief sexual dialogue).


I saw one trailer for this while waiting for the movie Smile a while ago, and my brother and I were intrigued. I mean a Gordan Ramsey-type chef serving food to rich people with some shots of gore seemed appealing to me. When the reviews came out, they seemed okay, but nothing prompted me to think about this film any further. When it came to streaming services, I finally decided to watch this movie, not expecting much from it, but I was wrong! The story follows a group of 12 wealthy, upper-class individuals who have a dinner reservation for a restaurant hosted by the best chef in the world. As everyone prepares for the best food of their lives, one of the guests, Margot, feels like something is off with this entire night. Her boyfriend insists it's just how eccentric Chef is, but Margot doesn't believe him. As the night progresses, each meal becomes more and more dangerous, and the guests realize they are in for much more than just their five course meal! Let me say, this is one of the strangest yet amazing movies I have ever seen. The characters were developed well, the story wasn't rushed and was executed fine. I loved the idea of the entire movie and the subtle satirical hints to real world events with social elites and the underlying theme of respect. I also thought the tension and horror was perfectly balanced, and I liked the gradual build of tension from beginning to end. Overall, this is a great movie for anyone to watch!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page