top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

The Nun ★★☆☆☆

October 4th, 2023

Common Sense Media Age: 15+ Violence 4/5 Language 3/5

My Age Recommendation: 15+ (Due to brief bloody images, jump-scare terror throughout, and some mild language).


When I saw the second Nun movie was already on home streaming, I realized I never finished the entire Conjuring universe, in which the next movie in the series was The Nun. I knew the reviews hated this movie along with it's sequel, however I still gave it a shot, and it definitely had some scary moments! The story is set in Romania in 1952, and a nun has just committed suicide and was found hanging from the abbey. A novice nun who hasn't even taken her vows yet named Sister Irene is sent to investigate this abbey and see if the ground are still holy. After spending only one night, strange and disturbing events unfold in front of her, and the evil that killed the nun is out there waiting for her next victim! Can Sister Irene stop The Nun before she grows too powerful. Let me say, this movie had some good scares in it along with beautiful scenery, but that's about it. The story was terrible (as you could probably tell from my brief synopsis) and the character development for everyone but Sister Irene was also pretty bad. The pacing was weird, in which the beginning was extremely fast, then slow for the next half hour, then really fast paced for the last hour (usually movies are fast paced for the last 20 minutes), but nonetheless it was bad and contributed to a less-scary atmosphere. While there were a couple of really effective jump-scares, there were at least a dozen more that did not land at all with me, which was disappointing. Another problem was the actual lack of seeing The Nun, which was a personal preference so I did not count it against the star ratings, but I still thought I'd see more of The Nun itself terrorizing and contributing to the scares instead of possessed people and items falling at convenient times. Overall, this was not a good movie in The Conjuring universe but it did have some decent scares.


2 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page