top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

The Shawshank Redemption ★★★★★

After seeing Borderlands and deeming it one of the worst (maybe even THE worst) movies I have ever seen, I was curious to watch The Shawshank Redemption as it is called the greatest movie of all time according to IMDb. I will say I was expecting it to deliver and it certaintly did. The story follows Andy Dufresne as he is sentenced to two consecutive life sentences at the Shawshank prison for the murder of his wife and his wife's secret lover. While Andy was wrongfully acused, he continues to stay quiet during his time in prison and befriends a man named Red. Together the film shows prison hardships, brutality, friendships, and powerful stories as it shows the passing of 19 years in the prison. I was extremely impressed with how moving and emotional this film was. The themes of humanity and hope throughout watching the prisoners in their most vulnerable forms sometimes was something I have never seen in a movie. The characters of course were potrayed really well due to the great cast including Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. I also loved the character development that was shown perfectly throughout the 19 years displayed in prison, and I think this film has one of the best character developments I've ever seen. The story was extremely engaging and the narrative helped give the deeper insight on the characters during their darker moments, and I think this added to the audience connection as well. The cleverness of the second half of the film also surprised me since I wasn't sure what to expect due to the bleakness of certain parts of the film, and the common theme of adapting and being institutionalized was really eye opening to me. I was also surprised to know that this movie was put into the National Film Registry for protection and preservation due to its importance on American Culture, and I think it truly shows how this film holds up decades later. I recommend everyone see this film as it will be one of the greatest films you will ever watch!



3 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page