top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeven Shah

The Suicide Squad ★★★★☆

March 13th, 2022

Common Sense Media Age: 16+ Violence 5/5 Language 4/5

Sex 4/5 Drugs/Alcohol/Smoking 3/5

My Age Recommendation: 15+ (Due to strong graphic and gory violence, strong language, a brief sex scene, and brief nudity).


I finished watching The Batman and I was told to watch more DC movies since my past few reviews have been Marvel based. So, I decided to watch the sequel to the first Suicide Squad movie, which I did review, and it was an extreme disappointment. I was wondering how this movie was ever going to be better, and let's just say it was! The story follows Amanda Waller creating Task Force X, which is the process of removing criminals from prison to do dangerous tasks in exchange for time off their sentences. When Amanda Waller sends the new Task Force X to Corto Maltese to destroy the remains of a project only referred to as Project Star, the squad goes armed with their weapons and skills, ready to complete the mission. When things go south and truths about Amanda and even America as a whole are revealed, the Suicide Squad is left wondering if they are fighting for the right team! Will they save the world by destroying Project Star? Or will their newfound discoveries stop the mission completely? Let me say, this was an amazing movie. The movie was funny, serious, dark, and witty all at the same time. There was never a slow or dull moment, and the plot plus execution was done perfectly. I loved the comic book feel this movie had, where title cards were incorporated into objects in the scene. I also liked how the title cards throughout the movie added comedic dialogue and lightened up certain scenes where it was needed, which made the movie very unique and enjoyable. The characters were developed well, which added to the subtle plot twists sprinkled throughout the movie. The casting was amazing, and I was seriously doubting John Cena and Pete Davidson's acting skills, but this movie squashed that thought. I also loved the segue into the Peacemaker show this movie set up. Overall, this was an amazing movie will good characters and a unique style that everyone should enjoy.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page