top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDeven Shah

Trick 'R Treat ★★★☆☆

October 21st, 2023

My Age Recommendation: 16+ (Due to some strong bloody/gory slasher violence, strong language, and some nudity)


I was told by many people this movie is a cult classic for horror fans and it is an 'anthology' structured movie (I was told similar to VHS which I will address later), which led me to watch it, however it was not as great as everyone hyped it up to be. The story follows five plots happening at the same time (relatively) on Halloween night, in which all the characters in each plot either experiences or is a part of a stereotypical Halloween trope only with a deadly twist! Each story is connected to the other and builds off the next one, with each one having a common theme of 'everything is not as it seems'. I will say I enjoyed this movie a lot during most of the parts, but it was not 'the greatest slasher ever', not by a long shot. The five plots were great and went together really well (along with their respective twists), but I do not consider this anthology at all since each plot is technically happening at the same time and most of the characters from one story meet other ones from different subplots, losing the feeling of 'individual segments' like VHS was. Since that was a personal thing, it did not affect the rating. The character development and pacing is where it lost points. While the story was great and had some good twists, I wish the pacing was a bit slower so the effect of the twist would pay off a bit better. The twists, while very creative, ended up feeling rushed and it didn't really hit me or the person I watched this with until we reflected upon it after. Some of the characters were on purposely left as a mystery in terms of their backstory, but some characters needed a little more development, which comes back to the pacing being way to quick. In general, I liked the movie due to the decent slasher moments, pretty good story (main selling point), and some of the characters, but I cannot get over how quick that movie was along with the lack of effect from some of the twists. Overall, fun slasher movie with decent twists, but pacing is really off!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page